Cuvelier is Iowa Central’s top male athlete

Cuvelier is Iowa Central’s top male athlete

APR 10, 2019

BY:  DANA BECKER, The Messenger Sports Reporter


Like so many others, Spencer Cuvelier saw Iowa Central as a perfect opportunity to better himself as both a student and an athlete.

Cuvelier, currently a member of the University of Northern Iowa football program, was named the 2019 Algoe Award winner, an honor that goes to the top male athlete at Iowa Central. He will be recognized along with female winner Abby Lohrmann on Wednesday at 7 p.m.

"I think going to Iowa Central was one of the best decisions in my life. Even through injures and heartache, Iowa Central gave me a chance to compete at a high level and for that I will be forever grateful," he said. "I was surrounded by athletes who were in the same position as me whether it was under-recruited out of high school or had a tough time getting exposure.

"Iowa Central was the perfect stepping stone in the right direction for me — not only as an athlete, but a student, too."

Cuvelier led the Triton defense in tackles with 96 this past fall including 22 for loss and four sacks. He also had three forced fumbles and recovered one.

His total tackles ranked ninth in the country, with his 58 assisted stops placing him third. Cuvelier had 17 total tackles in a 28-0 win over Ellsworth and 16 vs. Garden City.

"All the credit goes to the Iowa Central coaching staff for all of their hard work to put us in the positions we were in and my teammates," he said. "Without them, none of this is even a possibility."

Now in Cedar Falls preparing for the upcoming season with the Panthers, Cuvelier has continued to be "coached" by those on the Iowa Central staff.

"My first month at UNI, I had multiple coaches get ahold of me and ask how things were going," he said. "That's not part of their job description, but it goes to show what kind of people are there. I have the utmost respect for the Iowa Central coaching staff and the amount of time they spend for the game of football.

"The football coaching staff makes it a priority to connect on a personal level with all of their athletes."

Cuvelier is the first football player to earn the award since Wilmot Wellington in 2010 and 14th overall.

ALGOE AWARD (top male athlete)

2019 — Spencer Cuvelier, Football

2018 — Tray Croft, Basketball

2017 — Jared Seay, Track and Field

2016 — Tyler Hoffman, Wrestling

2015 — Blake Whalen, Cross Country/Track and Field

2014 — Cody Brandau, Bowling/Golf

2013 — Will Kenny, Baseball

2012 — Stanley Kebenei, Track and Field/Cross Country

2011 — Joey Flattery, Baseball and Tomas Cotter, Track and Field/Cross Country

2010 — Wilmot Wellington, Football/Track and Field

2009 — Joshua Sawe, Cross Country/Track and Field

2008 — Hillary Samoei, Cross Country/Track and Field

2007 — Sam Lambert, Track and Field

2006 — Tim Flattery, Baseball

2005 — Lee Elbert, Track and Field and Brock Iverson, Baseball

2004 — Justin Sokol, Baseball

2003 — Vahn Schumacher, Football

2002 — Matt Johnson, Basketball and Justin Meyer, Baseball

2001 — Nathan McClain, Wrestling

2000 — Willie McGowan, Soccer

1999 — Adam Wilde, Basketball

1998 — Ben Smith, Football

1997 — Matt Gast, Baseball

1996 — Todd Westphal, Wrestling

1995 — Ryan King, Basketball

1994 — Rich Martin, Basketball

1993 — Erik Josephson, Wrestling

1992 — Steve Kelly, Wrestling

1991 — Broderick Powell, Basketball

1990 — Don Tyndall, Basketball

1989 — Paul Weltha, Wrestling/Football

1988 — Bob Brower, Basketball

1987 — Ray Carreathers, Football

1986 — Randy Reitsma, Basketball

1985 — Steve Brown, Basketball

1984 — Larry Parrott and Greg Yergler, Basketball

1983 — Jon Cook, Wrestling

1982 — Craig Aljets, Basketball

1981 — Kevin Russell, Wrestling

1980 — Will Shupe, Football

1979 — Craig Light, Football

1978 — Kraig Knutson, Basketball

1977 — Tony Iliano, Baseball and Football

1976 — Earl Matthews, Football

1975 — Craig Michehl, Basketball

1974 — Tom Williams, Football

1973 — Jeff Gilligan, Football

1972 — Gary Fitzgerald, Football

1971 — Walt Fieseler, Football