Croft named Algoe Award winner at Iowa Central

Croft named Algoe Award winner at Iowa Central

By: Dana Becker, The Messenger Sports Reporter


Tray Croft secured one more honor before leaving Iowa Central for the University of Northern Iowa, as the sophomore basketball player was presented with the Mike Algoe Award, given annually to the school's top male athlete.

Croft was named the NJCAA Div. II Player of the Year and earned first team All-American honors after setting several records on the hardwood over his two-year career.

He is the first basketball player to earn the Algoe since Matt Johnson shared the award in 2002 with current Iowa Central head baseball coach Justin Meyer. Croft is the 14th basketball player winner all-time.

"Knowing that I was voted the top male athlete of the school means a lot because the coaches here voted for me," said Croft, who has committed to continue his basketball career at UNI in the fall. "It really helps me to know that they believed in me just like I believed in myself."

Along with setting new single-season (854) and career (1,626) records for points scored, Croft tied the single-game mark when he had 54 vs. Iowa Lakes. He went over 33 points 13 other times during his run with the Tritons.

He also ranks first in single-season 3-pointers (106), career triples (176), assists (270) and single-game made free throws (17). Croft is fourth on the steals list with 82.

"I think what set myself apart was I worked harder and gave everything I got because I wasn't looking at any awards," Croft said. "I just knew hard work would make them come my way."

The Tritons won 32 games over the past two seasons, including their first 20-win season since 2013-14 by posting a 21-12 record. They advanced to the Region XI championship game, as well.

"These past two years at Iowa Central taught me a lot," Croft said. "They showed me that I can do anything I put my mind to and that anything is possible if you have faith."

The Algoe Award is voted on by the Iowa Central athletic department and given out yearly to a sophomore athlete that has represented the school positively on the field and off of it.


2018 — Tray Croft, Basketball

2017 — Jared Seay, Track and Field

2016 — Tyler Hoffman, Wrestling

2015 — Blake Whalen, Cross Country/Track and Field

2014 — Cody Brandau, Bowling/Golf

2013 — Will Kenny, Baseball

2012 — Stanley Kebenei, Track and Field/Cross Country

2011 — Joey Flattery, Baseball and Tomas Cotter, Track and Field/Cross Country

2010 — Wilmot Wellington, Football/Track and Field

2009 — Joshua Sawe, Cross Country/Track and Field

2008 — Hillary Samoei, Cross Country/Track and Field

2007 — Sam Lambert, Track and Field

2006 — Tim Flattery, Baseball

2005 — Lee Elbert, Track and Field and Brock Iverson, Baseball

2004 — Justin Sokol, Baseball

2003 — Vahn Schumacher, Football

2002 — Matt Johnson, Basketball and Justin Meyer, Baseball

2001 — Nathan McClain, Wrestling

2000 — Willie McGowan, Soccer

1999 — Adam Wilde, Basketball

1998 — Ben Smith, Football

1997 — Matt Gast, Baseball

1996 — Todd Westphal, Wrestling

1995 — Ryan King, Basketball

1994 — Rich Martin, Basketball

1993 — Erik Josephson, Wrestling

1992 — Steve Kelly, Wrestling

1991 — Broderick Powell, Basketball

1990 — Don Tyndall, Basketball

1989 — Paul Weltha, Wrestling/Football

1988 — Bob Brower, Basketball

1987 — Ray Carreathers, Football

1986 — Randy Reitsma, Basketball

1985 — Steve Brown, Basketball

1984 — Larry Parrott and Greg Yergler, Basketball

1983 — Jon Cook, Wrestling

1982 — Craig Aljets, Basketball

1981 — Kevin Russell, Wrestling

1980 — Will Shupe, Football

1979 — Craig Light, Football

1978 — Kraig Knutson, Basketball

1977 — Tony Iliano, Baseball and Football

1976 — Earl Matthews, Football

1975 — Craig Michehl, Basketball

1974 — Tom Williams, Football

1973 — Jeff Gilligan, Football

1972 — Gary Fitzgerald, Football

1971 — Walt Fieseler, Football