2019 Triton Tennis All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes Announced

2019 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2019 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes on Tuesday. Iowa Central was one of just five NJCAA programs with both men and women named ITA All-Academic Teams, the highest academic honor in collegiate tennis. Representing Triton Tennis as ITA Scholar-Athletes are: Arthur Calandre, Kilmer Campos, Sacha Colomban, Aaron Fahey, Hunter Gerhardt, Maegan Connor, and Paulina Jankun.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Both teams also earned the NJCAA Academic All-American Team award this spring, and had 8 players receive NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards.

First Team honorees include: Arthur Calandre, Aaron Fahey, and Hunter Gerhardt. Second Team honorees were: Kilmer Campos, Sacha Colomban, Maegan Connor, Paulina Jankun, and Guadalupe Morales.

To round out the academic awards, the tennis program had a total of 19 members honored as ICCAC Academic All-Region.

The achievements in the classroom combined with strong performance on the tennis courts, where Women's Tennis (6-3) finished #26 at the NJCAA DI National Championships in Tyler, TX and Men's Tennis (13-8) followed up with a #17 finish at their national tournament in Tucson, AZ.


For the latest news on Iowa Central Tennis, log on to ictritons.com or stay connected to the Tritons via social media on Twitter @iccctennis, on Instagram @iowacentraltennis, and on Facebook at facebook.com/iowacentraltennis